Revelation 8



Revelation 8 marks the opening of the seventh seal, leading to the introduction of the first four trumpet judgments. These trumpet judgments bring various calamities upon the earth, including hail, fire, a burning mountain, poisoned waters, and celestial disturbances. The narrative sets the stage for the subsequent trumpet judgments in the following chapters.


  1. The Opening of the Seventh Seal (Revelation 8:1-5): The Lamb opens the seventh seal, and there is a silence in heaven for about half an hour. Seven angels are given seven trumpets, signifying the beginning of a new series of judgments. Another angel, with a golden censer, offers the prayers of the saints on the altar before God, and he casts fire from the censer to the earth.
  2. The First Trumpet - Hail and Fire (Revelation 8:6-7): The first angel blows his trumpet, resulting in hail and fire mixed with blood being thrown to the earth. A third of the trees and all the green grass are burned.
  3. The Second Trumpet - Fiery Mountain (Revelation 8:8-9): The second angel sounds his trumpet, causing a great mountain burning with fire to be thrown into the sea. This event leads to the destruction of a third of the sea, the death of a third of sea creatures, and the contamination of a third of the ships.
  4. The Third Trumpet - Wormwood (Revelation 8:10-11): The third angel blows his trumpet, and a great star named Wormwood falls from the sky, poisoning a third of the rivers and springs. Many people die from the bitter waters.
  5. The Fourth Trumpet - Celestial Disturbances (Revelation 8:12-13): The fourth angel sounds his trumpet, resulting in a third of the sun, moon, and stars being struck, causing a decrease in light. An eagle then announces three more woes that will come with the remaining trumpet blasts.